When you access your Google Account from a new device or new location, you’ll likely receive a login security alert asking if you’ve just signed in. This login security alert is designed to protect your account from unauthorized access whenever a potentially suspicious login occurs.

These alerts can be annoying if you frequently log into your account from new devices or clear cookies in your browser that require you to log into your account regularly from the same machine. So, below, we’ll look at what Gmail users should know about these security alert alerts.

Disabling and changing login security alert settings

In the past, it was possible to disable alerts or change login security settings by opening Gmail, scrolling to the bottom of the page, and clicking on the Details label. Clicking this link will open an Activity Information popup with options that allow users to change or disable login security alerts.

The details link and popup are still present, but the option to disable these alerts is no longer available. Instead, the popup will only provide you with information about recent logins, including login device, time, and device location.

You can use this information to determine whether someone else is accessing your account, but you will not be able to disable alerts related to new logins.

Using your Google Account’s Security menu, Gmail users can review devices currently logged into their accounts and activate two-factor authentication, or 2FA.

However, Google no longer offers a security option that will allow you to completely disable login security alerts. This is likely to ensure that if a user’s account is compromised, they are guaranteed to receive an alert from Google.

On Android devices, it’s possible to change your notification settings so that you don’t receive push notifications when Google detects a new sign-in to your account. If you disable notifications, you will still receive email notifications about new sign-ins, but you will no longer receive push notifications on your phone or other devices.

You’ll need to manually change your notification settings for each device you’re logged into your Gmail account on. And that’s because Google generates notifications for new alerts on every device with an active Gmail session.

Why might you want to keep Gmail’s login security alert active?

While security alerts can be annoying, they serve a valuable purpose: keeping Gmail accounts safe from hackers, cybercriminals, and anyone who isn’t the account owner.

Identity and access management is an important principle of business cyber security. In short, identity and access management means controlling who has access to a network or account and verifying that users are who they claim to be.

Passwords are a form of identity and access management. The password ensures that only certain authorized people can access the account. In the case of something like Gmail, the authorized person is the account owner and to whom they give their password.

Sign-in alerts are another way to manage identity and access. By alerting the account owner to a new sign-in, you can potentially prevent a hacker who knows the account password, from gaining access to the account or stealing it.

Another popular form of identity and access management is 2FA. These security systems require users to provide two types of identification when logging into the account.

For most sites and businesses, two-factor authentication means that logging in will require your password and a code sent to another account or device. Many sites and online services use codes sent to the phone via text message for two-factor authentication.

Like passwords and sign-in notifications, 2FA helps make sure you’re really who you claim to be when you log into your accounts—to recover a Gmail account or make a Gmail password change. .

Because cybercrime is on the rise, including an 11 percent increase in corporate cyber attacks, as reported by CBSNews, this type of identity and access management technology is likely to become more prevalent in the future.

How Gmail Login Security Alert Keeps Your Account Safe

Gmail’s login alerts are designed to protect us from potentially unauthorized account access whenever we sign into our Gmail accounts from a new device. These alerts are Google’s way of protecting accounts from being hacked.

If you are wondering how to disable Gmail login protection, know that it currently cannot be disabled. However, it is possible to turn off the push notifications that Google will send to you with a login security alert.

Together with another identity and access management measure like two-factor authentication, these Gmail login security alerts can go a long way toward keeping your account secure as cybercrime becomes more common.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *